What is a Class B Misdemeanor in Texas?
Updated: Oct 22, 2019
Texas law says that a class B misdemeanor is an offense punishable by up to 180 days in county jail and/or a fine of up to $2,000. An enhanced Class B misdemeanor based on a prior Class B or higher conviction is punishable by confinement from 30 days up to 180 days in jail and/or a fine of up to $2,000.
What kinds of crimes are class B misdemeanors? Some examples of class B misdemeanors in Texas are:
Possession of marijuana less than 2 ounces
Driving while intoxicated or DWI
Theft of property worth $100 to $750
Criminal mischief $100 to $750
I have handled hundreds of Class B cases in Texoma and North Texas, many of which have ended in dismissal. Even in cases where the charges are not dismissed, I have helped many of my clients keep convictions off their record.
If handled properly, a criminal defense attorney may be able to get a Class B case dismissed and ultimately expunged. This entire process may cost $1,500-$2,500 so it is not for everyone. University students, professionals, and individuals who have specific career or licensing goals may find hiring a criminal defense attorney to be worthwhile. Keep in mind that I offer an affordable flat-fee package for first-time offenders accused of possession of marijuana less than 2 ounces in either Grayson County or Collin County. I'm happy to help those with misdemeanor and/or felony charges in any of the following counties: Denton, Dallas, Cooke, Fannin, Lamar, Hunt, and Rockwall.
Contact my office if you would like to hire me to handle your class B misdemeanor case in Texas.